Archive for April, 2010

Caterham on the Hill Parish Council celebrates its 10th Anniversary, and is made up of Parish Councillors who are all local unpaid volunteers. Jean Hooper and Sarah Burningham have both served on the Parish Council since it began 10 years ago.

Photographer: Jon Harrison

Event Keywords: , ,

Caterham District Scouts held a St George’s Day Parade on Sunday 25th April 2010. Beavers, Cubs, Scouts and Explorer Scouts, set out from Beechwood Road in Caterham Valley they marched along Croydon Road to Timber Hill Recreation Ground where a service was led by Revd. David Marshall-Jones.

Leaders from 1st Warlingham and 1st Caterham were presented with their Wood Badges during the service.

Caterham Old Boys Reserves FC reached the final of the Redhill & District Football League, Saturday Junior Cup for the second consecutive year. Rory Butler captained the team who played The Plough, Ifield FC at Redhill Football Club on Wednesday 7th April 2010.

Playing in front of a large crowd of family and friends Caterham Old Boys Reserves won the match 3 –0 with goals from Danny Gillam (2) and Adam Brooks. The teams were presented with medals and a trophy after the match.

The new Chairman for 2010-2011 for Caterham Round Table is Clive Harper and the Honorary President is Andy Self who took over on 7th April 2010. Caterham Round Table meet at Surrey National Golf Club in Rook Lane, Chaldon, it will be a very busy year for them, with Caterham Round Table celebrating its 60th Anniversary, next year.

As part of the Caterham Festival this year they will be organising the Boat Race at the street party, and Waller Pain, a cycle time trial up Waller Lane on Sunday 13th June. By far their biggest fundraiser of the year will be the Firework Display in November in Dene Field, Church Road Caterham.